Leading the fight for safe and healthy workplaces

You are here

About the Conference

National Conference on Worker Safety and Health
#COSHCON2021

Acerca de la Conferencia en español

Registration now open!
December 7-9 and 14-16, 2021

Click here to register

Download the flyer

The National Conference on Worker Safety and Health (#COSHCON2021) is the only national gathering of its kind. We bring together a diverse, inclusive and bilingual group  of workers, occupational health and safety experts, unions, activists and academics united around common goals. We join together to: celebrate and encourage workers' power, make our workplaces safer and reduce the toll of on-the-job injuries, illnesses and fatalities.

We will be virtual again for COSHCON2021 because so many essential workers remain unvaccinated due to various factors including the lack of paid time off to get and recover from the vaccine. We will miss seeing everyone in person, but until all workers have the opportunity to protect themselves and their families from COVID-19, meeting virtually makes the most sense.

Conference Features

  • It brings together organizers, activists, trainers, worker leaders, advocates, academics –– everyone fighting for workers' lives and well-being from across the country (and beyond);
  • It has a specific focus on workers' organizing for safety and health, including a full track dedicated to organizers at all levels of growth (from budding to advanced) from all kinds of settings (worker centers, unions, COSH groups, or community organizers);
  • Combined with technical occupational safety and health workshops, such as investigation of workplace tragedies, workers' compensation legal support, heat/climate related hazards, and of course, the latest on COVID-19 science and protections;
  • We are going virtual this year, which means flexible schedules – and though we prefer you stay with us the whole time, you can choose what's most relevant to you;
  • All the general sessions, workshops, and the conference app itself will be fully bilingual in English and Spanish; and
  • Importantly, worker centers' participation is fully sponsored this year, so free registration for staff and members of worker centers!

Pricing / Precios

The price to attend the conference is $99. We offer a 25% discount ($75) for those who register before October 15th and 10% advance discount before November 30th ($90).

Please Note: To make the conference accessible to all, we are also offering scholarships for workers, worker centers and others with limited income, but all participants MUST register to attend the conference.

Schedule

Conference sessions will begin at 12 noon Eastern / 11am Central / 9am Pacific each day and conclude at 8pm Eastern /7pm Central / 5pm Pacific, with plenty of breaks built in.

  • Tuesday and Thursday will feature issue workshops and general sessions.
  • Wednesday is reserved for networking, product and service exhibits, music and cultural events and our annual awards banquet.

Preliminary Program

COSHCON2020 Highlights Video:

If you missed COSHCON2020, be sure to check out the highlights above!

Awards Ceremony 2020

You can watch the video of the event or read about prior COSH Award winners here.

Why Unions should attend COSHCON
Click image to open as PDF/download

 

COSHCON19 Highlights

COSHCON18 Highlights

 

Thank you to our COSHCON2021 Sponsors

 

Coworker.org

IAM CREST

International Brotherhood of Teamsters

 International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers

 Jobs with Justice

Karmel Law Firm

 

Motley Rice LLC

 

National Nurses United

 

New Solutions Journal

Oxfam America

Retail, Wholesale & Department Store Union

Safe and Just Cleaners Study

Strippers United

United Autoworkers

United Food and Commercial Workers International Union (UFCW)

 

United Mine Workers of America

United Steelworkers

Share/Save